top of page
Search
  • Adam

Backpacking in Asia: Singapore (for a day)

After flying from Saigon, Vietnam to Singapore, I had one day to spend before returning to the United States. I was surprised that they made me go through airport security AFTER I landed in the country, which I had never experienced anywhere else, but then again, their entry cards also said "DEATH TO DRUG TRAFFICKERS UNDER SINGAPORE LAW" so I guess Singapore just likes to be extra secure about everything.


I got to my hostel in late morning and had lunch (and dinner) at a nearby Hawker Centre. Hawkers are purveyors of street food and in recent years Singapore has forced them all to congregate in centers (think of them like food courts), I assume to make the streets look cleaner. (And indeed, Singapore is an incredibly clean place.) The food is cheap and delicious, and there were many places to choose from.


I then headed to Boat Quay and spent the afternoon wandering around Marina Bay in the city center. Notable sights were the Marina Bay Sands with its rooftop pool and the Gardens by the Bay with its "Supertrees" and topiary.


Boat Quay Marina Bay, as a storm approaches


A merlion (symbol of Singapore) and the Marina Bay Sands


I managed to sneak up to the roof and have a look at the world famous pool, 627 feet above the ground!


Supertrees Topiary with the Marina Bay Sands in back



The pretty Buddha Tooth Relic Temple

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page